Department of Social Work


The Department of Social Work at Whittier College is comprised of a group of students, professors, and social service agencies committed to personal growth and social justice.

Through our learning, we identify ways to grow, evolve, and make a difference in our world.

The Department of Social Work offers major and minor programs and is accredited by the Council on Social Work Education. Many social work students continue their growth after Whittier in generalist social work practice or through accredited MSW programs. Social work majors may qualify for advanced standing in MSW programs, reducing the number of required graduate units. Social work students also benefit from the department's strong network of local and global social work organizations and social work alumni who are leaders in the profession.

Prospective students interested in social work and social or economic justice are encouraged to contact the department to explore the program and learn more about career options. 


Council on Social Work Education Form AS 4(B): Baccalaureate Social Work