News & Events

Monday, November 8, 2010
Respected american environmentalist Bill Mckibben Speaks at Whittier College.

Author, educator, and leading environmentalist Bill McKibben spoke at Whittier College as part of the 2010 New Student Convocation. He also received an honorary degree from the College: a doctorate of humane letters. His lecture, Science and Society... More

Wednesday, November 3, 2010
Bittersweet farewell to Shannon Center's Theatre Manager David Palmer

As the Shannon Center celebrates its 20th anniversary, the College and Shannon Center patrons will bid a sad farewell to theatre manager David Palmer. Over the last 19 years, Palmer has devoted himself to developing the Shannon Center into one of... More

Monday, November 1, 2010
Whittier Breaks Ground on multi-million dollar renovation of the Graham Athletic Center.

Whittier College has announced a multi-million dollar renovation of the Graham Athletics Center that will enlarge the current pool to regulation size and create a spectacular new entrance to the existing building. "The new renovation will have a... More

Friday, October 29, 2010

The late Victor and Ila Mae Brock, longtime Whittier residents, left the entirety of their estate to Whittier College to establish the Ila and Victor Brock Scholarship Fund to benefit deserving students at the College. After Ila's passing earlier... More

Tuesday, October 26, 2010
Alumnus Geoff Shepard Talks about his role in the Nixon administration.

Author Geoff Shepard worked for five years in the Richard Nixon White House and is a remaining living individual who played a key role in Nixon's Watergate defense. He and most of the surviving members of Nixon's staff — including Donald Rumsfeld,... More

Tuesday, October 26, 2010
Joyce Kaufman takes on new post as inaugural center director.

Professor of Political Science Joyce Kaufman has been named at the inaugural director of the new Center for Engagement with Communities (CEC). The CEC is an expansion of Whittier College's proud history of partnering with communities —those... More

Sunday, October 24, 2010

Author, educator, and leading environmentalist Bill McKibben will speak at Whittier College as part of the 2010 New Student Convocation. His lecture, Science and Society: Making Sense of the Most Important Number in the World, will take place Friday... More

Sunday, October 24, 2010

The Inside Latin Jazz series continues with legendary American percussionist Jack Costanzo. Also known as "Mr. Bongo," Costanzo is credited with introducing the bongos to American Jazz music in the1950s. Moderated by Grammy Award-winning flautist... More

Friday, October 22, 2010
Professor Roger Noll speaks on the economics and politics of stadium subsidies in pro sports.

Stanford economics professor emeritus Roger Noll spoke about the economics and politics of stadium subsidies in professional sports as part of the 2010 Kim Thomas Interdisciplinary Lecture. Noll's research focuses on the economics of sports and... More

Monday, October 18, 2010
Professor Joseph Price and Wife to Receive Good Scout award.

Educators Joseph Price, Professor of Religious Studies and his wife Bonnie, an elementary school teacher, will be honored as the 2010 Rio Hondo Good Scouts of the Year Awards ceremony on November 11. The Prices, who met and married in Kentucky in... More

Pages

May
05
Thu, 05/05/2016 - 8:00am
May
06
Fri, 05/06/2016 - 8:00am
May
07
Sat, 05/07/2016 - 4:00pm
4 p.m. Ceremony at Ruth B. Shannon Center 5:30 p.m. ... More
May
10
Tue, 05/10/2016 - 8:00am
May
10
Tue, 05/10/2016 - 8:00am
May
10
Tue, 05/10/2016 - 6:00pm
May
11
Wed, 05/11/2016 - 5:30pm
May
12
Thu, 05/12/2016 - 5:00pm
May
12
Thu, 05/12/2016 - 8:00pm
May
13
Fri, 05/13/2016 - 8:00am
May
14
Sat, 05/14/2016 (All day)
May
18
Wed, 05/18/2016 - 8:00am
May
21
Sat, 05/21/2016 - 2:00pm
General Admission $47Purchase Tickets Robert &... More
May
21
Sat, 05/21/2016 - 7:30pm
General Admission $47Purchase Tickets Robert &... More
May
30
Mon, 05/30/2016 - 8:00am
Jul
04
Mon, 07/04/2016 - 8:00am
Jul
18
Mon, 07/18/2016 - 8:00am
Sep
04
Sun, 09/04/2016 (All day)
Sep
05
Mon, 09/05/2016 - 8:00am
Sep
07
Wed, 09/07/2016 - 8:00am
Sep
13
Tue, 09/13/2016 (All day)
Sep
14
Wed, 09/14/2016 (All day)
Sep
27
Tue, 09/27/2016 (All day)
Sep
28
Wed, 09/28/2016 (All day)
Oct
03
Mon, 10/03/2016 - 8:00am
Oct
04
Tue, 10/04/2016 - 8:00am
Oct
10
Mon, 10/10/2016 - 8:00am
Oct
12
Wed, 10/12/2016 - 8:00am
Oct
14
Fri, 10/14/2016 - 8:00am
Oct
18
Tue, 10/18/2016 - 8:00am
Oct
21
Fri, 10/21/2016 - 8:00am
Oct
28
Fri, 10/28/2016 (All day)
Oct
31
Mon, 10/31/2016 (All day)
Nov
08
Tue, 11/08/2016 (All day)
Nov
09
Wed, 11/09/2016 (All day)
Nov
11
Fri, 11/11/2016 (All day)
Nov
14
Mon, 11/14/2016 (All day)
Nov
23
Wed, 11/23/2016 - 8:00am
Nov
24
Thu, 11/24/2016 (All day)
Nov
25
Fri, 11/25/2016 (All day)
Dec
09
Fri, 12/09/2016 (All day)
Dec
12
Mon, 12/12/2016 - 8:00am
Dec
13
Tue, 12/13/2016 (All day)
Dec
20
Tue, 12/20/2016 (All day)
Dec
24
Sat, 12/24/2016 - 5:00pm
Dec
25
Sun, 12/25/2016 (All day)
Jan
01
Sun, 01/01/2017 (All day)
Jan
01
Sun, 01/01/2017 (All day)
Jan
02
Mon, 01/02/2017 (All day)
Jan
06
Fri, 01/06/2017 (All day)
Jan
06
Fri, 01/06/2017 (All day)
Jan
06
Fri, 01/06/2017 (All day)
Jan
07
Sat, 01/07/2017 (All day)
Jan
13
Fri, 01/13/2017 (All day)
Jan
16
Mon, 01/16/2017 (All day)
Jan
23
Mon, 01/23/2017 (All day)
Jan
24
Tue, 01/24/2017 (All day)
Jan
26
Thu, 01/26/2017 (All day)
Feb
01
Wed, 02/01/2017 (All day)
Feb
02
Thu, 02/02/2017 (All day)
Feb
15
Wed, 02/15/2017 (All day)
Feb
16
Thu, 02/16/2017 (All day)
Feb
20
Mon, 02/20/2017 (All day)
Feb
22
Wed, 02/22/2017 (All day)
Feb
24
Fri, 02/24/2017 - 8:00am
Mar
08
Wed, 03/08/2017 (All day)
Mar
13
Mon, 03/13/2017 (All day)
Mar
27
Mon, 03/27/2017 (All day)
Apr
03
Mon, 04/03/2017 - 8:00am
Apr
10
Mon, 04/10/2017 (All day)
Apr
11
Tue, 04/11/2017 - 6:00pm
Apr
16
Sun, 04/16/2017 - 8:00am
May
02
Tue, 05/02/2017 - 8:00am
May
03
Wed, 05/03/2017 - 8:00am
May
04
Thu, 05/04/2017 (All day)
May
09
Tue, 05/09/2017 - 8:00am
May
12
Fri, 05/12/2017 - 8:00am
May
24
Wed, 05/24/2017 - 8:00am
May
29
Mon, 05/29/2017 - 8:00am
Jul
04
Tue, 07/04/2017 - 8:00am
Jul
17
Mon, 07/17/2017 - 8:00am