News & Events

Tuesday, September 15, 2009

Award-winning author Karen Tei Yamashita spoke at the 2009 New Student Convocation in the Ruth B. Shannon Center for the Performing Arts. Yamashita read from her book,Tropic of Orange, the summer reading for entering first-year students.  Tropic of... More

Tuesday, September 15, 2009

Congresswoman Linda Sanchez (CA-39) commended the work of four local students who spent time interning in her Congressional Office in Cerritos this summer. Among these students is Whittier College theatre major Ashley Ramos '11. "It is inspiring to... More

Monday, September 14, 2009

Dozens of high school and community college educators participated in a two-day workshop at Whittier College, Causes of War: Paths to Peace. Organized by political science professor Joyce Kaufman, the Center for Active Learning in International... More

Friday, September 11, 2009

John Murdy '89, creative director at Universal Studios Hollywood, is once again hard at work converting the popular theme park into a place of screams and chills for Halloween Horror Nights '09. With mazes, monsters, and mayhem all carefully and... More

Sunday, September 6, 2009

Hundreds of new Poets descended upon the Whittier College campus this weekend for the 2009 new student orientation — Wild West Whittier. More than 400 first-year and transfer students were on site to check into their dorms, register for classes,... More

Tuesday, September 1, 2009

College blogger Tam Warner Minton took a tour of Whittier College to see for herself what the campus has to offer. When it comes to choosing the right college, she writes, it's all about the "fit." "Students, you must learn to know yourself before... More

Tuesday, August 25, 2009

The Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) released its 2009 preseason rankings on August 19, and Whittier College came in at No. 4 in the Division III poll. The Poets were also one of only three Division III schools to earn a vote towards the... More

Thursday, August 20, 2009

The Los Angeles Sparks women's basketball team honored President Sharon Herzberger last night during its annual Inspiring Women Night in the Staples Center. The first ever Lisa Leslie Inspiring Women Awards was presented at halftime on the court.... More

Thursday, August 20, 2009

The Los Angeles Sparks women's basketball team honored Whittier College President Sharon Herzberger during its annual Inspiring Women Night on Wednesday, as the Sparks took on the Washington Mystics in the Staples Center. Four inspirational women... More

Monday, August 3, 2009

Beloved professor Hilmi Ibrahim passed away on July 12, following a prolonged illness. A recipient of the Harry W. Nerhood Award for Teaching Excellence--one of Whittier College's highest honors for faculty--Ibrahim was a member of the Department of... More

Pages

Sep
03
Wed, 09/03/2014 - 8:00am
Sep
03
Wed, 09/03/2014 - 10:00am
Come join us at the Study Abroad Fair during Welcome Week... More
Sep
19
Fri, 09/19/2014 - 8:00pm
IN TWO WORLDS Exploring the duality of music and society... More
Sep
30
Tue, 09/30/2014 - 7:00pm
Michael Weinstein, president of the AIDS Healthcare... More
Oct
01
Wed, 10/01/2014 - 11:00am
Oct
17
Fri, 10/17/2014 - 9:00am
By now, you should have received your "Save-the-Date"... More
Nov
03
Mon, 11/03/2014 - 9:00am
Nov
05
Wed, 11/05/2014 - 11:00am
Employers please register at Poet Paths.
Dec
09
Tue, 12/09/2014 - 9:00am
Jan
05
Mon, 01/05/2015 - 9:00am
Mar
04
Wed, 03/04/2015 - 11:00am