News & Events

Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Poems Dead and Undead by Tony Barnstone

Just in time for Halloween and given our culture's current obsession with zombies and vampires, Albert Upton Professor of English Language and Literature Tony Barnstone, recently published the anthology “Poems Dead and Undead.” The selection of... More

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Lessons on civic engagement and social responsibility are hallmarks of a Whittier College liberal arts education. While Poet alumni are well represented in the fields of education, social work, and government, many others have ventured into public... More

Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Devin Iimoto batting

Chemistry Professor Devin Iimoto's softball team was named D Division North American Champions in the North American Gay Amateur Athletic Association (NAGAAA) Softball World Series last month. His team, the Los Angeles Swingers, bested a 62 team-... More

Monday, October 20, 2014
Whittier Weekend

More than 1,000 Poets including alumni, families, and friends, participated in this year's Whittier Weekend festivities between October 17 and 19. The three-day celebration opened with an intimate Golden Anniversary brunch in honor of the class of... More

Monday, October 20, 2014

The Wall Street Journal recently wrote about the sixth annual analysis of core curricula at 1,098 four-year colleges and universities by the American Council of Trustees and Alumni which included Whittier College. The study found that just 18% of... More

Thursday, October 16, 2014
The Egypt Game

Whittier College alumna and Newbery Award recipient, Zilpha Keatley Snyder, who captivated two generations of children and young adults authoring nearly 50 books, died on Oct. 7 in San Francisco, CA. She was 87. Her books lauded with Newbery Awards... More

Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Department of Homeland Security

Since the intentional distribution of anthrax spores (Bacillus anthracis) through the U.S. postal system in 2001, the prospect of bioterrorism in food, water, and agriculture has identified critical needs in prevention, protection, and mitigation... More

Thursday, October 9, 2014
Latino graduates

Whittier College has been named as one of the nation’s Top 50 Colleges for Hispanic Students by BestColleges.com. Whittier was ranked as number four in a list that includes many other top public and private institutions of higher learning. According... More

Thursday, October 2, 2014
Baseball

Whittier College will be the home of the Institute for Baseball Studies, the first humanities-based research center of its kind associated with a college or university in the United States. The Institute is a partnership between Pasadena-based... More

Monday, September 29, 2014
Helping Hands Day

From helping organize a food pantry to painting walls at a homeless shelter to beautifying a local park, Whittier College Poets came out en masse to help their community on Saturday, September 27 for the College's 20th Annual Helping Hands Day. The... More

Pages

Nov
03
Mon, 11/03/2014 - 9:00am
Nov
05
Wed, 11/05/2014 - 11:00am
Interested in attending Grad School? Come to the Graduate... More
Nov
05
Wed, 11/05/2014 - 4:30pm
Learn your leadership styles and how to implement it into... More
Nov
08
Sat, 11/08/2014 - 8:00am
The CA Forum for Diversity in Graduate Education is on Nov... More
Nov
12
Wed, 11/12/2014 - 4:30pm
Learn your leadership styles and how to implement it into... More
Nov
13
Thu, 11/13/2014 - 2:00pm
Learn how to access freely-licensed media via repositories... More
Nov
13
Thu, 11/13/2014 - 6:30pm
A native of North Carolina, Craig received his musical... More
Nov
19
Wed, 11/19/2014 - 4:30pm
Learn your leadership styles and how to implement it into... More
Nov
21
Fri, 11/21/2014 - 11:45am
Come join LEAP in our 23rd Annual Sportsfest!
Dec
09
Tue, 12/09/2014 - 9:00am
Jan
05
Mon, 01/05/2015 - 9:00am
Mar
04
Wed, 03/04/2015 - 11:00am