ASWC Honors Convocation Awards

Friday, March 14, 2014

Each year, Associated Students of Whittier College (ASWC) presents three faculty/staff awards at the Annual Honors Convocation. Please submit your nominations for the Richard B Harvey,  Marilyn Veich, and Key to the College Awards to the ASWC.

Richard B. Harvey Award

Named for Professor of Political Science Richard Harvey, this award recognizes a tenured faculty member who has taught at Whittier for an extended period of time. This award honors the recipient’s outstanding leadership in the classroom and/or exemplary administrative service to the College. He or she has gone beyond the call of duty and has shown a true belief in Whittier and its values.

Past award recipients:

2015 - Gary Libman
2014 - Charles "Charlie" Eastman
2013 - Doreen O’Connor-Gomez
2012 - Joyce Kaufman
2011 - Charles Reeg
2010 - Geetha Rajaram
2009 - sal Johnston & Sean Morris
2006 - Doreen O’Connor-Gomez

Marilyn Veich Award

The Marilyn Veich Award is given to an individual who makes outstanding contributions to Whittier College and is dedicated to improving the lives of its students.

Past award recipients:

2015 - Michael McBride & Laura McEnaney
2014 - Eric Lindgren
​2013 - Jeffrey Decker
2012 - Kathy Barlow
2011 - sal johnston
2010 - George DaRoza
2009 - Susan Gotsch
2006 - Andre Coleman
2003 - Sean Morris

"Key to the College" Award

The Key to the College is given to an individual who has shown great support for the Associated Students of Whittier College (ASWC) and dedication to all students.

Past award recipients:

2015 - Suzanne "Suzy" McDonald, Deborah "Debbie" Allison, & Sean Morris
2014 - Shauna Sobers, Daisy Machado, & Bon Appetit Staff
2013 - Mike McBride & Christina Scott
2012 - Gary Libman
​2011 - Delaphine Hudson
2010 - Nessa Julian
2009 - Joy Hoffman
2006 - Dora James, The Housekeeping Staff, and President Herzberger


The award recipients will be announced at the Annual Honors Convocation.