Whittier College
Office of Public Relations

13406 Philadelphia St.
P.O. Box 634
Whittier, CA  90608-0634

Aug. 23, 2002                                                        

Reference:  02/03: 7

Contact:  Judy Browning at (562) 907-4216                                                   

Whittier College Alumni Board Elects New Members

          Following a sweeping reorganization plan adopted last spring, the Board of
Directors of Whittier College’s Alumni Association elected new members from across the country.  The 33-member board will meet twice a year to consider governance issues, according to Beth Fernandez, interim director of alumni relations.

 “We’ve cut down the number of meetings for this board and will be tying them
 into such events as Homecoming or Reunion Weekend to make it easier for board
members to participate,” she said.

Deborah (Cramer) Arroyo of La Habra, class of 1990, has been elected to a
second term as president of the association.  She will lead the Alumni Association,
the Board of Directors and the Alumni Advisory Council, a new group that will include 100 members from such groups as societies, class agents, regional alumni clubs, the African American Alumni Association, and the Alianza de los Amigos, Whittier’s Hispanic alumni association. She also serves as an alumni representative to the Board of Trustees.
She is the executive director of the Anaheim Memorial Hospital Foundation. 

Jeanette Wong of Chino Hills is president-elect. Wong is the director of Academic Advising for Azusa Pacific College and is a noted concert pianist.   She graduated from
Whittier in 1982.

Joining Arroyo and Wong on the board’s executive committee are immediate Past President Penny Fraumeni of Hacienda Heights, who is principal of Fairgrove Academy in
the Hacienda/La Puente Unified School District, and Whittier residents Bonny (Strout)
Kahler, a teacher in the El Rancho Unified School District and Al Stoll, owner of 4 Star
Realtors Inc. in La Mirada.  Also elected to the board from Whittier is Dean Crowley,
the retired CIF Commissioner of Athletics for the Foothill Athletic Conference of
California Community Colleges.  Crowley will serve a one-year term.

Elected from Orange County are Jose Casillas of Orange, a senior sales executive
for Kaiser Permanente, who will serve a three-year term; Sandra (Trombatore) Krogh,
a food consultant and author from Irvine; and Geoffrey Price of Fullerton, the district
rental manager for Penske Truck Leasing.  Price and Krogh will serve two-year terms. 

Elected from Los Angeles County are Callie Batts, a preservation planner for the
Historic Resources Group who lives in Hollywood and will serve a three-year term; Joe
Ulrey vice president for Morgan Stanley Dean Whitter in Riverside, who lives in Rancho Cucamonga; Donald Kinsey, the managing director of Credit Suisse, First Boston Bank,
who resides in Manhattan Beach; and Hiroko Tatebe of Los Angeles. Tatebe is about
to retire as director, executive vice president and treasurer of Dai-Ichi Kangyo Bank. 
Kinsey, Ulrey, and Tatebe will serve one, two, and three-year terms respectively.

Board members elected from the Bay Area include Albert Carey, a bed & bath
designer for Lamperti & Associates out of San Rafael, who lives in San Francisco;
Kathleen Kane, associate vice chancellor of the University of California, San Francisco,
who lives in San Francisco; Linda Pappas Diaz, acting city manager for the City of
Antioch; and Kenneth Woods, the chief higher education officer for the College Board
Western Regional Office, who lives in Pleasanton. 

Other Californians are Barbara June (Fauskins) Hill, the owner of Co-Hill Leasing
and Hill Consultants in Julian; Archie Nogle, CEO of Lompoc Van and Storage, Inc.,
who lives in Lompoc; and Donald Remley, superintendent of schools for the Orroville
Elementary School District.  Kane  and Remley will serve one-year terms, Cary and
Pappas Diaz two-year terms and Hill, Nogle and Woods, three-year terms each.

Hawaii representatives include Douglas Bennett, a retired athletic director from
Kailua, and Debbie (Hamamoto)
Shimizu and Maura (Lee) Yee, who will share a one-year appointment.  Shimizu is the Executive Director of the National Association of Social
Workers, Hawaii branch, and Yee is an administrative assistant for the Navy Public Works Center.  Both live in Honolulu.

Elected members from the Pacific Northwest include Noah Davis, attorney for
InPacta, PLLC from Seattle, Washington, for a three-year term; Heidi (Heim-Barker)
Mowad, deputy district attorney for Multnomah County in Oregon for a three-year term;
retiree Jacquelyn (Wadeson) Muller, who lives in Seattle and will serve a one-year term;
and Ed Petersen, senior vice president for Info-Space Inc., also of Seattle, who will
serve a two-year term.

Other members elected from outside California include Toni (Leslie) Baker, retiring director for the Area Agency on Aging from St. Paul, Minn., for a three-year term; Leah
Henry Beauchamp, associate professor of education at Montclair State University in New Jersey; Bradley Bender, partner with Tri Medics Inc., a surgical device manufacturer
from North Smithfield, R.I., for a one-year term; Maurice Clifton, owner and broker for
ERA Westwind of Boise, Idaho, for a three-year term; Paul Ferguson, of Las Vegas, Nev.,  the senior vice-provost and dean of the Graduate College at the University of Nevada, Las
Vegas, for a two-year term; Shayne Gad, principal of Gad Consulting Services from Cary, N.C.,  for a two-year term; Dr. Stacy Richards of Yuma, Ariz., a retired professor of psychology, for a one-year term; Michael Shonborn, vice president and chief financial officer of the
Nassau Educators Federal Credit Union in New Haven, Conn., for a one-year term,
 and Dina van Klaveren, associate dean of students at the Maryland Institute, College of Art,
Baltimore, Md., for a two-year term.  

Serving as the Alumni Board representatives to the Whittier College Board of
Trustees are Wayne Harvey, retired CPA from
Palm Desert, Calif., and Amy Pulver,
executive director of the Sand Creek Regional Greenway Partnership from Denver, Colo.

Located 18 miles east of Los Angeles, Whittier College is an independent, four-year
college offering traditional liberal arts majors and strong pre-professional programs
taught in the context of the liberal arts.  Whittier Law School, which is accredited by
the American Bar Association and is a member of the Association of American Law
Schools, is located on a separate campus in Costa Mesa.

Whittier College Office of Communications
13406 Philadelphia » P.O. Box 634 » Whittier, CA 90608-0634
Tel: (562) 907-4213 » Fax: (562) 907-4927