News & Events

Wednesday, September 22, 2010

Visiting professor Miroslava Chavez-Garcia gave a special lecture, States of Delinquency: Youth, Race, and Science at Whittier State School, 1890s to 1940s, on the history of the Whittier State School, also known as the Fred C. Nelles School on... More

Tuesday, September 21, 2010
Construction begins on Martin Ortiz '48 elementary school.

Wichita Public Schools began construction on its $7.6 million Martin Ortiz Elementary School after a ceremonial groundbreaking today at the site of the new school. John Ortiz, a sibling of Martin Ortiz, spoke on behalf of the family. At the end of... More

Tuesday, September 21, 2010

More than 400 students, staff, and alumni will join more than 14,000 volunteers from all over Los Angeles County for the 2010 Heal the Bay Costa Clean-up event on Saturday, September 25 from 9:00 a.m. until noon. Whittier College will clean up the... More

Friday, September 17, 2010

An exciting slate of writers and performing artists will be part of the 2010 Whittier College Writers Festival, including English poet Michael Hulse, novelists Ron Carlson, and Poet and Iraq War Veteran Brian Turner. Moreover, playwright Yehuda... More

Wednesday, September 15, 2010
Whittier College president Sharon Herzberger gives advice on choosing the right fit.

Writing as a guest commentator for the San Gabriel Valley Tribune, Whittier College President Sharon Herzberger gives advice to parents about how to help their children pick the college with the "right fit." "On my numerous college trips I have... More

Tuesday, September 14, 2010

The RealNewArts Foundation in association with The Ruth B. Shannon Center for the Performing Arts proudly presents RealNewMusic 2010 at the Ruth B. Shannon Center for the Performing Arts, 67060 Painter Ave, Whittier, CA 90608, Saturday, September 18... More

Sunday, September 5, 2010
Hundreds of new poets light candles in honor of "the light of knowledge" at the 2010 convocation.

More than 500 first-year and transfer students were on campus today to begin their journey as Whittier College Poets. Incoming students and their families had the opportunity to meet and mingle with alumni, faculty, staff, administrators and fellow... More

Tuesday, August 31, 2010

he annual celebration of Hawaiian music returns with a new line-up of award-winning and internationally acclaimed musicians and performers. The featured artists will include Amy Hanaiali'i Gilliom, Aaron Sala, The Makaha Sons, the Brothers Cazimero... More

Tuesday, August 31, 2010

Whittier College and the Bilingual Foundation for the Arts present Un Domingo en la Alameda, a Spanish-language play inspired by the magnificent and famous mural by Diego Rivera, on Wednesday, September 15 at 7:30 p.m. in the Ruth B. Shannon Center... More

Friday, August 27, 2010
Whittier college students study abroad.

More than 65 Whittier College students went abroad last academic year, venturing all over the world, representing Whittier College in Denmark, France, Spain, England, Scotland, Ireland, Russia, Germany, Italy, The Netherlands, Austria, Jordan, Ghana... More

Pages

Sep
06
Sun, 09/06/2015 - 8:00am
Sep
06
Sun, 09/06/2015 - 7:15pm
Sep
08
Tue, 09/08/2015 - 1:00pm
Sep
09
Wed, 09/09/2015 - 8:00am
Sep
09
Wed, 09/09/2015 - 1:00pm
Sep
10
Thu, 09/10/2015 - 10:00am
Come join us at the Study Abroad Fair!  Introduce... More
Sep
10
Thu, 09/10/2015 - 12:30pm
Lunch, book signing, and conversation with respected... More
Sep
15
Tue, 09/15/2015 - 8:00pm
General Admission: Free, but tickets are requiredReserve... More
Sep
16
Wed, 09/16/2015 - 4:30pm
Sep
18
Fri, 09/18/2015 - 7:30pm
When former scientist and innovative juggling ace Warren... More
Sep
21
Mon, 09/21/2015 - 10:00am
Sep
25
Fri, 09/25/2015 - 1:00pm
Sep
26
Sat, 09/26/2015 - 8:00am
Visit the Helping Hands page for more information.
Sep
26
Sat, 09/26/2015 - 7:00pm
Presented in Spanish 20.00 General Admission $15.00... More
Sep
28
Mon, 09/28/2015 - 7:00pm
Sep
30
Wed, 09/30/2015 - 7:00pm
In an unexplored—and mostly unknown—side of Watergate,... More
Oct
03
Sat, 10/03/2015 - 2:00pm
General Admission $47.00Purchase Tickets The music of... More
Oct
03
Sat, 10/03/2015 - 7:30pm
General Admission $47Purchase Tickets The music of... More
Oct
07
Wed, 10/07/2015 - 7:30pm
Linda Biehl, the co-founder of the Amy Biehl Foundation,... More
Oct
09
Fri, 10/09/2015 - 7:30pm
General Admission: $25.00 or $40.00 for both nights... More
Oct
10
Sat, 10/10/2015 - 7:30pm
General Admission: $25.00 or $40.00 for both nights... More
Oct
16
Fri, 10/16/2015 - 8:00am
Oct
17
Sat, 10/17/2015 - 7:30pm
General Admission $15Purchase Tickets  
Oct
20
Tue, 10/20/2015 - 7:00pm
$10 General Admission $5 Students Purchase Tickets... More
Oct
21
Wed, 10/21/2015 - 4:30pm
Co-founder of Reclaim Hosting, Jim Groom, visits Whittier... More
Oct
23
Fri, 10/23/2015 - 8:00am
Whittier Weekend offers multiple opportunities for you to... More
Oct
23
Fri, 10/23/2015 - 12:00pm
Oct
25
Sun, 10/25/2015 - 11:00am
The Office of Admission will hold its Whittier Preview... More
Oct
25
Sun, 10/25/2015 - 4:00pm
Oct
27
Tue, 10/27/2015 - 4:30pm
Nov
02
Mon, 11/02/2015 - 8:00am
Nov
02
Mon, 11/02/2015 - 11:00am
Nov
04
Wed, 11/04/2015 - 9:00am
Nov
12
Thu, 11/12/2015 - 7:30pm
Big Love By Charles Mee Directed by Jennifer Holmes... More
Nov
13
Fri, 11/13/2015 - 7:30pm
Big Love By Charles Mee Directed by Jennifer Holmes... More
Nov
14
Sat, 11/14/2015 - 2:00pm
Big Love By Charles Mee Directed by Jennifer Holmes... More
Nov
14
Sat, 11/14/2015 - 7:30pm
Big Love By Charles Mee Directed by Jennifer Holmes... More
Nov
15
Sun, 11/15/2015 - 2:00pm
Big Love By Charles Mee Directed by Jennifer Holmes... More
Nov
16
Mon, 11/16/2015 - 9:30am
Nov
25
Wed, 11/25/2015 - 9:30am
Nov
26
Thu, 11/26/2015 - 9:30am
College closed.
Dec
04
Fri, 12/04/2015 - 3:00pm
Dr. Lara Deeb will discuss her new book Anthropology’s... More
Dec
05
Sat, 12/05/2015 - 2:00pm
General Admission $47Purchase Tickets For this season,... More
Dec
05
Sat, 12/05/2015 - 7:30pm
General Admission $47Purchase Tickets For this season,... More
Dec
15
Tue, 12/15/2015 - 9:30am
Jan
16
Sat, 01/16/2016 - 2:00pm
General Admission $47 Purchase Tickets For 30 years, ... More
Jan
16
Sat, 01/16/2016 - 7:30pm
General Admission $47Purchase Tickets For 30 years, the... More
Mar
12
Sat, 03/12/2016 - 2:00pm
General Admission $47Purchase Tickets  The ‘Ukulele is... More
Mar
12
Sat, 03/12/2016 - 7:30pm
General Admission $47Purchase Tickets The ‘Ukulele is... More
Apr
16
Sat, 04/16/2016 - 9:00am
The community engagement projects Whittier College... More
Apr
27
Wed, 04/27/2016 - 6:00pm
High school students participating in the Amy Biehl... More
May
21
Sat, 05/21/2016 - 2:00pm
General Admission $47Purchase Tickets Robert &... More
May
21
Sat, 05/21/2016 - 7:30pm
General Admission $47Purchase Tickets Robert &... More