News & Events

Monday, January 11, 2016
Whittier College First Year Courses, Triplet, Joyce Kaufman, Charles Eastman

by Lightmary Flores '16 Students at Whittier College have the opportunity to explore topics through multi-disciplinary lenses by enrolling in paired courses or in the case of a First-Year Programs’ class, triplet courses. In one of the triplet... More

Monday, January 11, 2016
Puerto Rico

The study abroad experience has long been a hallmark of the liberal arts curriculum and a rite of passage for many American undergraduates. In addition to the traditional semester-long experience, Whittier College offers student the opportunity to... More

Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Madison Shipherd, Whittier College Soccer

            Whittier College's soccer forward Madison Shipherd '16 was named to the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Scholar All-West Region 1st Team. In addition, Shipherd was named to the Southern California... More

Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Sandra Thorstenson, Whittier College alumna

Educational leader Sandra Thorstenson '77 will retire after from the Whittier Union High School District after serving as an educator and administrator for 39 years, including 14 years as District Superintendent. During her tenure as a leader at... More

Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Jim "Mudcat" Grant, Honorary Doctorate

James “Mudcat” Grant, former top Major League Baseball pitcher and advocate for the history of African Americans in baseball will receive an honorary doctorate of humane letters from Whittier College on Monday, February 8. The event will take... More

Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Whittier College Head Football Coach Mike Neale

Whittier College Executive Director of Athletics and Assistant to the President Robert Coleman has announced the hiring of Mike Neale as the New Poet Head Football Coach.  Neale comes to Whittier after successfully helping to resurrect the... More

Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Teach In Islamaphobia

Given the political, social, and religious conflicts affecting our world, Whittier College students have a myriad of questions about topics such as the Syrian Refugee Crisis, the terrorist attacks in Paris and Beirut, Islamophobia, and terrorist... More

Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Lydia Jackson Elementary School

For more than 12 years, Whittier College students have had the opportunity to learn about children's literature and their welfare through the pair course taught by Associate Professor of Education and Child Development Kathleen Ralph and Associate... More

Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Voter Registration Drive, Social Work, Whittier College

by Lightmary Flores ‘17 The "Introduction to Social Work" course at Whittier College is bringing a new meaning to political engagement. Through their voter registration Praxis Project, students are able to take initiative in informing potential... More

Sunday, November 29, 2015
Joseph Price, Whittier College faculty

Professor of Religious Studies Joseph Price was recently quoted in The New York Times article "When Some Turn to Church, Others go to Crossfit" where he discussed how activities, such as Crossfit, can create community and passionate devotion,... More

Pages

Jan
24
Tue, 01/24/2017 (All day)
Jan
24
Tue, 01/24/2017 (All day)
Jan
26
Thu, 01/26/2017 (All day)
Jan
31
Tue, 01/31/2017 - 9:00am
Vendors will be at the bookstore to assist graduating... More
Feb
01
Wed, 02/01/2017 (All day)
Feb
02
Thu, 02/02/2017 (All day)
Feb
06
Mon, 02/06/2017 - 7:00pm
The Los Angeles Integrated Arts Program will sponsore a... More
Feb
15
Wed, 02/15/2017 (All day)
Feb
16
Thu, 02/16/2017 (All day)
Feb
20
Mon, 02/20/2017 (All day)
Feb
22
Wed, 02/22/2017 (All day)
Feb
23
Thu, 02/23/2017 - 7:00pm
In the 1990s, environmentalism became a powerful force in... More
Feb
24
Fri, 02/24/2017 - 8:00am
Mar
02
Thu, 03/02/2017 - 7:00pm
​Alanoud Al-Sharekh will discuss the role of women in the... More
Mar
03
Fri, 03/03/2017 - 11:00am
Mar
08
Wed, 03/08/2017 (All day)
Mar
13
Mon, 03/13/2017 (All day)
Mar
27
Mon, 03/27/2017 (All day)
Apr
01
Sat, 04/01/2017 - 9:00am
The Department of Music at Whittier College hosts its... More
Apr
02
Sun, 04/02/2017 - 9:00am
The Department of Music at Whittier College hosts its... More
Apr
03
Mon, 04/03/2017 - 8:00am
Apr
10
Mon, 04/10/2017 (All day)
Apr
11
Tue, 04/11/2017 - 6:00pm
Apr
16
Sun, 04/16/2017 - 8:00am
Apr
27
Thu, 04/27/2017 - 5:00pm
Apr
28
Fri, 04/28/2017 - 5:00pm
May
02
Tue, 05/02/2017 - 8:00am
May
03
Wed, 05/03/2017 - 8:00am
May
04
Thu, 05/04/2017 (All day)
May
09
Tue, 05/09/2017 - 8:00am
May
12
Fri, 05/12/2017 - 8:00am
May
24
Wed, 05/24/2017 - 8:00am
May
29
Mon, 05/29/2017 - 8:00am
Jul
04
Tue, 07/04/2017 - 8:00am
Jul
17
Mon, 07/17/2017 - 8:00am