Faculty

Charles S. Adams
Professor of English
Hoover 206 
562.907.4200 x4982
cadams@whittier.edu
Visit faculty page
Areas of Interest: American Literature and Studies, Literary Theory, Baseball, Autobiography

Tony Barnstone
Department Chair
Hoover 208
562.907.4200 x4335
tbarnstone@whittier.edu
Visit faculty page
Areas of Interest: Poetry and Creative Writing, Translation, The Graphic Novel, American Literature, Asian and Asian-American Literature, Literature of War, and Popular Fiction.

Jonathan Burton
Associate Professor of English
Hoover 107
562.907.4200 x5021 
jburton@whittier.edu
Visit faculty page
Areas of Interest: Shakespeare, Early Modern Studies, Drama, Postcolonial Studies, Comparative Literature, Literature and Race, Islam and English Literature, Writing About Music, History of Education

Michelle Chihara
Visiting Assistant Professor
Hoover 112
562.907.4200 x4422
mchihara@whittier.edu
Visit faculty page
Areas of Interest: Contemporary American Literature and Culture, Economic History and the Culture of Finance, Television and Reality Television, Digital Media and Finance, Creative Writing

Wendy Furman-Adams
Albert Upton Professor and Chair of the English Department
Hoover 215
562.907.4200 x4896​
wfurman@whittier.edu​
Visit faculty page
Areas of Interest: Milton, Dante, Early Modern Studies, Ecofeminism, Art and Literature, The Bible as Literature, Classical Literature

Sean P. T. Morris
Associate Professor of English
Hoover 209
562.907.4200 x4416
smorris@whittier.edu​
Visit faculty page​
Areas of Interest: Beowulf, Medieval Studies, Screenwriting​

dAvid iAn pAddy
Professor of English
Hoover 109 
562.907.4200 x4317
dpaddy@whittier.edu​
Visit faculty page​
Areas of Interest: Modern and Contemporary British Literature, J.G. Ballard, Celtic Literature, Black British Culture, Critical Theory, Science Fiction  

Andrea Rehn
Associate Professor of English
Co-Director, Whittier's Digital Liberal Arts Center
Hoover 211
562.907.4200 x4350
arehn@whittier.edu
Visit faculty page
Areas of Interest: Victorian Literature, Postcolonial Studies, Digital Humanities, Feminist and Queer Studies,Critical Theory 

Administrative Staff

Angela Olivas
English Department Assistant
Hoover 210
562.907.4200 x4253
afreeland@whittier.edu

Share