News & Events

Thursday, July 17, 2014

Professor of Modern Languages Gustavo Geirola presented at the 29th annual International Festival on Hispanic Theater in Miami. His lecture on Argentinean playwright Pablo Gigena’s Anónimo Metateatral (2011) was singled out by the Miami Herald:  “[... More

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Visiting Professor of English Tess Taylor was a recent guest on the KUSP Poetry Show discussing her most recent book of poetry, The Forage House. The book is described as "a far-ranging exploration of a family’s role in the United States’s past."... More

Friday, July 11, 2014

Executive Director of Athletics Robert Coleman sat down with the Whittier College Sports Network to recap the Spring Season of 2014, to shed light on changes taking place over the summer, and to share his prospects for the Poets' upcoming year. ... More

Thursday, July 10, 2014

Suzanne McDonald, assistant director of admissions at Whittier College, was bestowed the Murdoch/Finks New Admissions Counselor award at the annual Western Association of College Admissions Counselors (WACAC) Conference. The Murdoch/Finks award is... More

Thursday, July 10, 2014

Whittier College has named 229 undergraduate students to the Spring 2014 Dean's List. Undergraduate students are awarded Dean's List honors if he or she earns a 3.70 grade point average (GPA) while completing a full-time course load (12 units) in... More

Thursday, July 3, 2014
Mark Taylor '89

Alumnus Mark Taylor '89 was named chief of staff by City of Long Beach mayor-elect Robert Garcia. Taylor currently serves as director of college advancement, public affairs, and governmental relations at Long Beach Community College, where he has... More

Wednesday, July 2, 2014
Fiske Guide to Colleges

Whittier College has been included in the 2015 edition of the Fiske Guide to Colleges, which features 300 of the "best and most interesting" colleges and universities in the U.S., Canada, and Great Britain. Compiled by former New York Times ... More

Tuesday, July 1, 2014
Kyle Kerlee '18

Incoming Poet Kyle Kerlee ’18 is not your average football player. When he is not on the field, Kerlee is at state fairs showing livestock throughout California and the United States. A competitive and hard-working young man, Kerlee thrives both on... More

Tuesday, July 1, 2014
Jennifer Fuller '82

Alumna and Whittier College Trustee Jennifer Fuller ’82 has been recognized as “Best in Tax Dispute Resolution” by Euromoney magazine at its 2014 Americas Women in Business Law Awards, which recognizes the best women attorneys in North America. “I... More

Wednesday, June 25, 2014
2014 Fulbright Awardees

Three recent Whittier College graduates have been granted highly competitive Fulbright English Teaching Assistantship awards. The recipients Carlee Shults ’14 (Avondale, AZ), Elizabeth Cook ’14 (Zionsville, IN), and Amiya Moretta’14 (Seal Beach, CA... More

Pages

Mar
26
Thu, 03/26/2015 - 10:00am
Mar
26
Thu, 03/26/2015 - 7:00pm
Yuyutsu Sharma is South Asia’s leading poet published... More
Mar
31
Tue, 03/31/2015 - 10:00am
Join fellow Poets for a discussion, and Q&A session... More
Mar
31
Tue, 03/31/2015 - 7:00pm
Panelists from important Latino radio, journalism, and... More
Mar
31
Tue, 03/31/2015 - 7:30pm
Jeff Hobbs' book THE SHORT AND TRAGIC LIFE OF ROBERT... More
Apr
01
Wed, 04/01/2015 - 6:30pm
Hosted by: Irfana Hashmi ​Five separate cameras tell... More
Apr
02
Thu, 04/02/2015 - 5:00pm
Talk and discussion about journalism ethics and gendered... More
Apr
02
Thu, 04/02/2015 - 5:00pm
Gloria Molina: Lessons on Leadership In a conversation... More
Apr
04
Sat, 04/04/2015 - 3:00pm
For the first time, Whittier College will hold a Lavender... More
Apr
06
Mon, 04/06/2015 - 6:30pm
Apr
07
Tue, 04/07/2015 - 8:00pm
Latin Jazz 102 Jazz With No Prerequisites Instructor:... More
Apr
12
Sun, 04/12/2015 - 2:00pm
Please join us to acknowledge students’ academic success... More
Apr
14
Tue, 04/14/2015 - 1:30pm
An exciting slate of writers and performing artists will... More
Apr
15
Wed, 04/15/2015 - 7:30pm
Join Louie and David from Los Lobos as they take it back... More
Apr
21
Tue, 04/21/2015 - 7:00pm
Robert Polito, President of the Poetry Foundation,... More
Apr
22
Wed, 04/22/2015 - 6:30pm
Apr
22
Wed, 04/22/2015 - 8:00pm
General Admission: $15.00 Senior Citizens and Students... More
Apr
24
Fri, 04/24/2015 - 12:00pm
Apr
24
Fri, 04/24/2015 - 7:00pm
Apr
25
Sat, 04/25/2015 - 7:30am
Whittier College's Undergraduate Research, Scholarship,... More
Apr
26
Sun, 04/26/2015 - 2:00pm
General Admission: $15.00 Senior Citizens and Students... More
Apr
28
Tue, 04/28/2015 - 4:00pm
Apr
28
Tue, 04/28/2015 - 8:00pm
Apr
29
Wed, 04/29/2015 - 6:30pm
Hosted by: Tessa Farmer A portrait of the lives of... More
Apr
30
Thu, 04/30/2015 - 12:30pm
May
01
Fri, 05/01/2015 - 12:00pm
May
02
Sat, 05/02/2015 - 8:00am
May
02
Sat, 05/02/2015 - 2:00pm
May
09
Sat, 05/09/2015 - 4:00pm
The Latino Graduates Celebration is a bilingual ceremony... More
May
14
Thu, 05/14/2015 - 8:00pm
The Baccalaureate Ceremony is an opportunity for... More
May
15
Fri, 05/15/2015 - 9:00am
More Information
Oct
23
Fri, 10/23/2015 - 8:00am