News & Events

Wednesday, February 11, 2015
NAICU logo

President Sharon Herzberger visited Washington D.C. in early February to attend NAICU's (National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities) Annual Meeting. NAICU serves as the unified national voice of private nonprofit higher... More

Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Louie Perez and David Hidalgo

An exciting slate of writers and performing artists will be part of the 2015 Whittier College Writers Festival. The festival runs from April 14 through April 16. The Writers Festival is sponsored in part by the Ruth B. Shannon Center for the... More

Tuesday, February 3, 2015

Whittier College's JanTerm classes give students the opportunity to get ahead, catch up, or enroll in a faculty-led study abroad course. This past January, students explored topics such as social media and theatre, nanotechnology and society,... More

Monday, February 2, 2015
Ted Conover

Accomplished author Ted Conover will be a Visiting Scholar in the Center for Collaborations with the Arts on February 23-24 when he will host student writing workshops and discuss his book Rolling Nowhere. In his book, Conover details his early... More

Monday, February 2, 2015
Super Bowl 2015

Professor of Religion Joe Price was included in an article posted by The Week about the cultural phenomenon that the Super Bowl has become since it was first played in 1967. The Super Bowl has created "a convergence of sports, politics, and myth... More

Monday, January 26, 2015

Professor of Education and Child Development Anne Sebanc,  and Professor of Kinesiology and Nutrition Science Kathy Barlow have been hard at work for more than three years to establish strong relationships between Whittier College and local... More

Monday, January 26, 2015

Whittier College Professor Gustavo Geirola attended last month the Guadalajara International Book Fair, the biggest of its kind in the Spanish language. Some of Geirola's books and academic journals were presented at the Fair and he was also... More

Monday, January 26, 2015
MLK event

Whittier College celebrated the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. With an evening of music, song, and words of wisdom. The event, The Modern March: Celebrating How Far We Have Come and Recognizing How Far We Have Yet To Go, was co-sponsored by... More

Monday, January 26, 2015
KPCC panel, Police Relations

Police officer-involved shootings and the state of race relation in the country have been big topics in the news lately. This important national issue was recently discussed in a local forum hosted by KPCC, Southern California Public Radio and ... More

Friday, January 16, 2015
baseball institute, whittier college

“Play ball!” said Professor of Religion and Co-Director of the Institute for Baseball Studies Joseph Price at the Institute’s grand opening celebrated on January 16. In a real festive atmosphere which included hot dogs, peanuts, and Cracker... More

Pages

Mar
31
Tue, 03/31/2015 - 10:00am
Join fellow Poets for a discussion, and Q&A session... More
Mar
31
Tue, 03/31/2015 - 7:00pm
Panelists from important Latino radio, journalism, and... More
Mar
31
Tue, 03/31/2015 - 7:30pm
Jeff Hobbs' book THE SHORT AND TRAGIC LIFE OF ROBERT... More
Apr
01
Wed, 04/01/2015 - 6:30pm
Hosted by: Irfana Hashmi ​Five separate cameras tell... More
Apr
02
Thu, 04/02/2015 - 5:00pm
Gloria Molina: Lessons on Leadership In a conversation... More
Apr
02
Thu, 04/02/2015 - 5:00pm
Talk and discussion about journalism ethics and gendered... More
Apr
04
Sat, 04/04/2015 - 3:00pm
For the first time, Whittier College will hold a Lavender... More
Apr
06
Mon, 04/06/2015 - 6:30pm
Apr
07
Tue, 04/07/2015 - 8:00pm
Latin Jazz 102 Jazz With No Prerequisites Instructor:... More
Apr
12
Sun, 04/12/2015 - 2:00pm
Please join us to acknowledge students’ academic success... More
Apr
14
Tue, 04/14/2015 - 1:30pm
An exciting slate of writers and performing artists will... More
Apr
15
Wed, 04/15/2015 - 7:30pm
Join Louie and David from Los Lobos as they take it back... More
Apr
21
Tue, 04/21/2015 - 7:00pm
Robert Polito, President of the Poetry Foundation,... More
Apr
22
Wed, 04/22/2015 - 6:30pm
Apr
22
Wed, 04/22/2015 - 8:00pm
General Admission: $15.00 Senior Citizens and Students... More
Apr
24
Fri, 04/24/2015 - 12:00pm
Apr
24
Fri, 04/24/2015 - 7:00pm
Apr
25
Sat, 04/25/2015 - 7:30am
Whittier College's Undergraduate Research, Scholarship,... More
Apr
26
Sun, 04/26/2015 - 2:00pm
General Admission: $15.00 Senior Citizens and Students... More
Apr
28
Tue, 04/28/2015 - 4:00pm
Apr
28
Tue, 04/28/2015 - 8:00pm
Apr
29
Wed, 04/29/2015 - 6:30pm
Hosted by: Tessa Farmer A portrait of the lives of... More
Apr
30
Thu, 04/30/2015 - 12:30pm
May
01
Fri, 05/01/2015 - 12:00pm
May
02
Sat, 05/02/2015 - 8:00am
May
02
Sat, 05/02/2015 - 2:00pm
May
09
Sat, 05/09/2015 - 4:00pm
The Latino Graduates Celebration is a bilingual ceremony... More
May
14
Thu, 05/14/2015 - 8:00pm
The Baccalaureate Ceremony is an opportunity for... More
May
15
Fri, 05/15/2015 - 9:00am
More Information
Oct
23
Fri, 10/23/2015 - 8:00am