News & Events

Tuesday, November 5, 2013

In conjunction with trusted partner Publishing Concepts, Inc (PCI), the 125th Anniversary Edition of the Whittier College Alumni Directory is now underway, with a publication date set for fall 2014 and available for purchase in both print and CD... More

Monday, November 4, 2013

For aspiring Whittier College actors, it might take some convincing, but in the end, most will reach the conclusion that professor Gil Gonzalez led them to, Shakespeare is still king. “Students always feel they’d rather do a contemporary play—... More

Tuesday, October 29, 2013
Isabel Allende and William C. Gordon

Literary couple Isabel Allende and William C. Gordon were in town this weekend for a fundraising event, “Isabel Allende and William C. Gordon in Conversation,” to benefit the Whittier Scholars Program and Whittier High School.  The talk allowed the... More

Tuesday, October 29, 2013
Seiors Acosta and Rigo recognized for reaching landmark of 1000 digs and 1000 kills

Prior to Saturday’s game against Chapman University, seniors Alyssa Acosta and Alayna Rigo were recognized for achieving two milestones in their volleyball careers at Whittier College. This season, Acosta, a libero, achieved 1000 digs, while... More

Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Thalian Society member Claudia Munoz was presented with the Dr. Hilmi Ibrahim Award for her volunteerism by Whittier Councilman Owen Newcomer during the Thalian Society Whittier College Homecoming brunch. “I’m very honored to have received the award... More

Wednesday, October 23, 2013
Volunteers clean up area near Tijuana River

Five dozen Whittier students traveled to the U.S./Mexico border last week to join a group of nearly 300 volunteers in picking up trash at Border Field State Park. The students were led by professors from various departments including Julie Collins-... More

Wednesday, October 23, 2013
Last Days of Judas Iscariot

The Last Days of Judas Iscariot will be coming to the Whittier College Stage November 20-23 at 8:00 p.m. and November 24 at 2 p.m. in the Studio Theater of the Ruth B. Shannon Center of the Performing Arts, 6760 Painter Ave., Whittier, CA 90608.... More

Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Albert Upton Professor and Chair of English Tony Barnstone is featured in a new Poetry.LA interview series hosted by former Whittier lecturer Mariano Zaro. The series features noted poets of the Los Angeles area and beyond. Click  here to watch the... More

Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Brightly dressed traditional Ecuadorian dancers, Andean melodies, Mexican regional songs, and salsa dancing were all part of the 42nd Annual Tardeada – a celebration of Latino culture and traditions. During the afternoon’s festivities, Whittier’s... More

Monday, October 21, 2013

Beloved Student Newspaper "The Quaker Campus" Achieves Centenarian Mark from The Rock, Fall 2013 As an English professor at Whittier College during World War I, Maxwell Anderson wrote to the Quaker Campus criticizing the executive committee of the... More

Pages

Mar
06
Fri, 03/06/2015 - 12:00pm
Mar
06
Fri, 03/06/2015 - 8:00pm
Written by William Shakespeare Adapted and Directed by Gil... More
Mar
07
Sat, 03/07/2015 - 12:00pm
Diversity Council organizations, The Office of... More
Mar
10
Tue, 03/10/2015 - 4:30pm
The Mellon Project on “Leadership as a Liberal Art” is... More
Mar
10
Tue, 03/10/2015 - 7:30pm
Directed by John Malkovich "Julian Sands is on occasion... More
Mar
11
Wed, 03/11/2015 - 6:30pm
Hear from past Poets about their journey into these... More
Mar
14
Sat, 03/14/2015 - 8:30am
Meet great authors, discuss books with other bibliophiles... More
Mar
16
Mon, 03/16/2015 - 9:00am
Mar
21
Sat, 03/21/2015 - 3:00pm
General Admission: $47.00Buy Tickets Kawika's first... More
Mar
21
Sat, 03/21/2015 - 8:00pm
General Admission: $47.00Buy Tickets Kawika's first... More
Mar
24
Tue, 03/24/2015 - 10:00am
Join fellow Poets for a discussion, and Q&A session... More
Mar
25
Wed, 03/25/2015 - 1:30pm
Political Scientist Raymond Rocco of the UCLA Latin... More
Mar
26
Thu, 03/26/2015 - 10:00am
Mar
26
Thu, 03/26/2015 - 7:00pm
Vandana Khanna was born in New Delhi, India and is the... More
Mar
31
Tue, 03/31/2015 - 7:00pm
Panelists from important Latino radio, journalism, and... More
Mar
31
Tue, 03/31/2015 - 7:30pm
Jeff Hobbs' book THE STRANGE AND TRAGIC LIFE OF ROBERT... More
Apr
01
Wed, 04/01/2015 - 6:30pm
Hosted by: Irfana Hashmi ​Five separate cameras tell... More
Apr
04
Sat, 04/04/2015 - 3:00pm
Apr
06
Mon, 04/06/2015 - 6:30pm
Apr
07
Tue, 04/07/2015 - 8:00pm
Latin Jazz 102 Jazz With No Prerequisites Instructor:... More
Apr
09
Thu, 04/09/2015 - 5:00pm
Talk and discussion about journalism ethics and gendered... More
Apr
12
Sun, 04/12/2015 - 2:00pm
Please join us to acknowledge students’ academic success... More
Apr
14
Tue, 04/14/2015 - 1:30pm
An exciting slate of writers and performing artists will... More
Apr
15
Wed, 04/15/2015 - 7:30pm
Join Louie and David from Los Lobos as they take it back... More
Apr
21
Tue, 04/21/2015 - 7:00pm
Robert Polito, President of the Poetry Foundation,... More
Apr
22
Wed, 04/22/2015 - 6:30pm
Apr
22
Wed, 04/22/2015 - 8:00pm
General Admission: $15.00 Senior Citizens and Students... More
Apr
24
Fri, 04/24/2015 - 12:00pm
Apr
24
Fri, 04/24/2015 - 7:00pm
Apr
25
Sat, 04/25/2015 - 7:30am
Whittier College's Undergraduate Research, Scholarship,... More
Apr
26
Sun, 04/26/2015 - 2:00pm
General Admission: $15.00 Senior Citizens and Students... More
Apr
28
Tue, 04/28/2015 - 4:00pm
Apr
28
Tue, 04/28/2015 - 8:00pm
Apr
29
Wed, 04/29/2015 - 6:30pm
Hosted by: Tessa Farmer A portrait of the lives of... More
Apr
30
Thu, 04/30/2015 - 12:30pm
May
01
Fri, 05/01/2015 - 12:00pm
May
02
Sat, 05/02/2015 - 8:00am
May
02
Sat, 05/02/2015 - 2:00pm
May
09
Sat, 05/09/2015 - 4:00pm
The Latino Graduates Celebration is a bilingual ceremony... More
May
14
Thu, 05/14/2015 - 8:00pm
The Baccalaureate Ceremony is an opportunity for... More
May
15
Fri, 05/15/2015 - 9:00am
More Information
Oct
23
Fri, 10/23/2015 - 8:00am