Board of Trustees

Wardman HallMembership on the Board of Trustees at Whittier College is an honor, a service, and a responsibility. It is the trustees' who - in consultation with others - determine, reaffirm, or change the College's purposes and mission. They approve all major institutional policies including decisions concerning the addition or discontinuation of major academic programs and major services, consistent with Whittier's mission and financial capacity.

The duties of the Board includes appointing, supporting, and assessing the president and other officers of the College, as well as authorizing the granting of tenure to faculty, and approving earned and honorary degrees. Additionally, trustees must lead planning initiatives, assess outcomes, and monitor progress against goals. They ensure that the College has adequate resources to fulfill its mission by approving and monitoring the annual budget, protecting financial and capital assets, and prudently investing restricted and unrestricted funds.

Elected for up to three, three-year terms before a required hiatus year, Board members set an excellent collective example in personal philanthropy. They lead special fundraising initiatives for capital and endowment projects, and are typically the College's top donors to the Whittier Fund with their generous annual support for scholarships. Guaranteeing that Whittier serves as a good citizen in its relationships with other social, educational, and business enterprises through appropriate collaborations and partnerships, trustees are key ambassadors for the College in the United States and abroad.

Currently, the Whittier College Board of Trustees consists of 29 members, 19 of whom are Whittier alumni from the classes of 1957 through 2000. In addition, eleven former trustees have been elected as Emeriti Trustees. These individuals remain committed through their investment of time and resources on behalf of the College.

Board Members

Alan H. Lund '71

Barry M. Blechman P'14

James E. "Jim" Mitchell '62

Albert "Al" Anderson '66
Fred D. Anderson ’66
Barry M. Blechman P’14
James M. Brown ’71
Christopher G. Caldwell P’13
Janet Cauffman
Vincent J. “Vince” Daigneault ’85
Peter E. Feinberg ’82
Raymond “Buck” Ferguson ’67
Gerard P. Forster ’87 P’08
Jennifer Lynn Fuller ’82, P'17
Richard I. “Rick” Gilchrist ’68
Barbara O. Groce ’57
Carey (Baker) Halio ’95
Helen Newton Hartung P'13
Yukiyasu “Yuki” Hayashi P’10
Sharon D. Herzberger, Ph.D.
Kathleen L. Kane’71
Elizabeth Y. Kay-Im ’89
Edwin Y. Keh ’79 P’11, ’14
Maggie Koong L.H.D. ’14
Alan H. Lund ’71
James E. “Jim” Mitchell ’62
James R. Parks
Janet L. Roberts '64
Richard S. Ruben
Marvin Suomi
Darrell E. Walker '76
Steven Weston ’83
Kate K. Wiley P’11
Richard Zapanta P’13
Robert Zemsky ’62

Trustees Emeriti

Richard H. Deihl ’49
Alfred J. Gobar “Al” ’53, M.A. '55, L.H.D. '05
Willard V. “Bill” Harris, Jr.’55 L.H.D.’02
Donald J. Herrema ’74
Caroline (Patterson) Ireland ’43
Sharon W. (Ettinger) McLaughlin
R. Chandler Myers, J.D., LL.D. ’88
Anthony R. Pierno ’54, L.H.D. '00
Ruth B. Shannon, L.H.D. ’92
Elden L. Smith ’62
Donald E. “Bill” Wood, L.H.D. ’98

Updated 3/16